top of page

80's Invasion - Theatre Severn, Shrewsbury


80s Invasion - what an AWESOME night of entertainment!

Martika is obviously a bit of an eccentric, but it was incredibly refreshing to see someone dance and actually PERFORM on stage like she did. Plus, she has one hell of a voice!

China Crisis were fun and amusing and very talented, and although there was a lot of 'banter' between songs they obviously take their music seriously and it was a joy to see them play. They were both lovely guys at the meet and greet too, and I got the impression that they made everyone feel at ease with their various jokes and endearing silliness.

Paul Young did, admittedly, get off to a bit of a shaky start, and I am assuming that the fact his voice was, at first, barely audible above the actual instruments was not something that was done by accident. Once he got in his stride, however, he really seemed like he was enjoying himself and got the crowd on their feet. He was a bit offhand at the meet and greet too, but to be fair he DID ask what my name was so he could write it on my record with his signature, and he did a lovely smile when I had my photo taken with him.

But, I have to say, the best performer of evening was definitely Toyah. She was energetic, confident, and contrary to popular belief, also has a wonderful voice! It was lovely to meet her (she was incredibly normal!) at the meet and greet and we ended up talking about the Pop Quiz revival and what to do if you find yourself on the front row of a gig (as we did at this one) right by the speakers and the whole thing is too loud!

She also provided my highlight of the evening; during her rendition of Martha and The Muffins' 'Echo Beach' (of my favourite songs!) she held out the mic to me (not once, but twice!) so I could sing the chorus back to her. :)

All in all it was- as Martika herself described it- one heck of a nostalgia trip!

/ RECENT POSTS

bottom of page